(E–pub READ) Building Jerusalem The Rise and Fall of the Victorian City

  • Hardcover
  • 592
  • Building Jerusalem The Rise and Fall of the Victorian City
  • Tristram Hunt
  • English
  • 08 August 2020
  • 9780805080261

Tristram Hunt ô 1 DOWNLOAD

FREE READ Building Jerusalem The Rise and Fall of the Victorian City DOWNLOAD Õ Building Jerusalem The Rise and Fall of the Victorian City From Manchester's deadly cotton works to London's literary salons a brilliant exploration of how the Victorians created the modern city Since Charles Dickens first described Coketown in Hard Times the nineteenth century city born of the industrial revolution has been a byword for deprivation pollution and criminality Yet as historian Tristram Hunt argues in this powerful new history the Coketowns of the 1800s were far than a monstrous landscape of factories and tenements By 1851 than half of Britain's population l. Reading this book I wonder why Labour have Tristram Hunt as Shadow education and not fronting down Pickles and his crew so intent on destroying local governmentA readable walk through of the ideas and people who shaped ideas of municipal government in our big cities in the 19thC full of men in monocles building civic pride and tireless campaigners against laissez faire management and the Shopocracy my new favourite history word all of whom wanted the cities to reflect the best values of Victorian BritainOf course they weren t perfect Concern for the poor was bottom of their list and they carried out Hausmann style bulldozing of the poor areas without any regard of where the poor would go when this was done without much soul searching hmm sounds familiarHunt makes a strong and passionate argument for defending local government and restoring to it powers gradually stripped from it in the last 40 years unless he s changed his ideas since he wrote this its a message that needs to be shouted much louder than it currently is

FREE READ Building Jerusalem The Rise and Fall of the Victorian City

Building Jerusalem The Rise and Fall of the Victorian City

FREE READ Building Jerusalem The Rise and Fall of the Victorian City DOWNLOAD Õ Building Jerusalem The Rise and Fall of the Victorian City Le class power and prosperity and the liberating mission of city life Vowing to emulate the city states of Renaissance Italy the Victorians worked to turn even the smokestacks of Manchester and Birmingham into sites of freedom and art And they succeeded until twentieth century decline transformed wealthy metropolises into dangerous inner cities An original history of proud cities and confident citizens Building Jerusalem depicts an unrivaled era that produced one of the great urban civilizations of Western history. I think the title is a mistake a grabber for fans of William Blake and Monty Python but maybe a turn off for other prospective readers Which is too bad because the book is unusually lively for a 500 page history of English cities and how they grew Lots foreign influences than I suspected on the architecture most intriguingly to me The political ups and downs of Gothic for instance You have to be ready to skip chunks about things you already know about or don t care about and linger over what is news to you and helps you see new connections

FREE READ ï FINDARTICLES.CO ô Tristram Hunt

FREE READ Building Jerusalem The Rise and Fall of the Victorian City DOWNLOAD Õ Building Jerusalem The Rise and Fall of the Victorian City Ived in cities and even as these pioneers confronted a frightening new way of life they produced an urban flowering that would influence the shape of cities for generations to come Drawing on diaries newspapers and classic works of fiction Hunt shows how the Victorians translated their energy and ambition into realizing an astonishingly grand vision of the utopian city on a hill the new Jerusalem He surveys the great civic creations from town halls to city suares sidewalks and even sewers to reveal a story of midd. This marvelous history takes us through the low and high points of the development of the British cities of the 19th century The Industrial Revolution greatly expanded the urban population but also brought with it poverty and dismal living conditions among the new underclass Hunt shows how individuals with a Catholic or Non Conformist background initiated urban reform on a broad scale that included public buildings city planning culture and social services It is a fascinating story told with great enthusiasm erudition and wit The author is not afraid to make links to the present and provide lessons for to day and showing that the urban disturbances of 2011 have clear historical antecedents